roXor media

martial arts, computers, dorks

Napoleon Dynamite?

Well, I finally saw Napoleon Dynamite last night. It was a pretty good. Although, honestly I don’t think it was “gut-busting” funny. Maybe it’s because I’m a nerd and I related to well for it to be that funny. Anyway, it is a well done movie, although I noticed a few spots where they violated some rules of filming. I recommend it to anyone who has interest in watching a great character movie. Meaning, it’s the characters that make the movie, and not really the plot.

Okay, okay. You want me to point out a scene that violated some film rules. The scene with Uncle Rico and Kip talking out on the front porch is the one that comes to mind. In that scene, they framed the actors with very little lead space in the direction they are talking. It looked like their faces were going to bump up against the edge of the film. It gives you a strange sense of tension. For those of you who may not know what lead space is: When you frame a shot of someone moving/looking left or right, give some room in the direction they are moving/looking. If you don’t give them some lead room it just doesn’t look right. Try it some time and you’ll see what I mean.

I’ll give Napoleon Dynamite a B+. I loved the characters – especially the brother. Anyone who can talk like that and not laugh has GOT to be talented.

Written by Sterling

April 19, 2005 at 1:27 pm

Posted in uncategorized

