roXor media

martial arts, computers, dorks

Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

I went to see The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy this weekend and I was very entertained. This movie won’t win any awards, mostly because it has a small target audience, but it was really fun to watch. I read the first three books many years ago, and I honestly enjoyed some of the scenes even more than I would I have had I not read the books. I give high marks for that since often times movies made after books give me the exact opposite feeling.

The special effects were well done and purposefully on the cheesey side, which only served to enhance the whacky irony of the whole story. The casting was well done and I thought the actors did an excellent job. Aside from a few big name cameos, the main characters were small time names. I thought that Mos Def did an awesome job as Ford Prefect and Sam Rockwell (Guy from Galaxy Quest) did a stellar job of playing up the whacky President of the Galaxy, Zaphod Beeblebrox.

In trying to grade this movie I was trying to think of something bad about it…honestly, I just can’t think of anything. Everything was really good and the movie was really entertaining. I’ll give it an A-.

Written by Sterling

May 2, 2005 at 9:45 am

Posted in uncategorized

