roXor media

martial arts, computers, dorks

Batman Begins…

I’m soooo, oh so, happy about the new Batman movie. Not only did this movie reinvigorate the Batman saga, but Christian Bale just might be the best Batman ever. It’s a tough call though, since I really think Michael Keaton was dead on with his performance as the caped crusader. Cillian Murphy was a great Scarecrow. He’s not a big name yet, but I thought he did a fantastic job – soft spoken with psychotic edge. The fx were big, the toys were cool and the cast was stellar. How can you go wrong with Morgan Freeman, Liam Nieson and Gary Oldman. Answer: You can’t! While not an Oscar contender, I love the revival. This movie gets a solid A.

Written by Sterling

June 16, 2005 at 9:11 am

Posted in uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have to agree. Definately, a first rate film.

    I found Cillian Murphy’s portrayal of the Scarecrow disturbingly similar to Johny Depp’s portrayal of Willy Wonka in the Charely and the Chocolate Factory trailer.

    Gary Oldman was great as Gordon. The role was a complete departure from his usual villainous parts (5th Element, Airforce One, etc.).

    I really hope DC and WB option a sequel with the same creative team and cast.

    Personally, I think Bale is a much better suited to the role of Batman/Bruce Wayne than Keaton. Bale brings a gritty realistic physicallity that was missing from Keaton’s performance. I think the sublty and nuance Bale brings to Bruce Wayne real made him a much more three dimensional character than Keaton’s portraylal. Although to be fair to Keaton, it’s been years since I saw the first two batman films.

    Mike

    Anonymous

    June 16, 2005 at 11:33 pm


Comments are closed.

