roXor media

martial arts, computers, dorks

War of the Worlds

Fantastic movie, folks. I really enjoyed it. I’m also going to go out on a limb here and say that I was impressed with Cruise. He’s normally type cast in rolls where he plays this suave guy who is really cool and is a bit of a hot shot. In WoW, however, he plays a dead beat dad who is just your average Joe. He isn’t brilliant nor is he super tough; he’s just average. I like that. It worked for me, and I think Cruise did a great job of pulling off the role.

I’d also like to take a brief moment to talk about Dakota Fanning. That little girl can act. I’m always impressed with someone so young having such a huge range of emotional control. She covered the gamut of emotions throughout the movie. I’m just floored.

The special effects were amazing. The whole movie had a tendency to suck me into the main characters shoes and ask myself this one nagging question, “What would I do if it were me?” Where do you run when everything around you is falling apart around you?

I give this movie a solid A. The effects were great, the characters were interesting, and I felt the movie had a little something more than what was just on the surface. I want to watch it again, and that’s always a good sign.

Written by Sterling

July 1, 2005 at 10:08 am

Posted in uncategorized

