roXor media

martial arts, computers, dorks

Treatments: Why are they important?

This installment is focused on you scriptwriters out there. I happened upon a good site called www.filmmakers.com and inside the many pages of information I saw an article called Writing Treatments That Sell. This article isn’t choke full o’ meat, but it is a glancing overview of what a treatment does and why you should write one.

As an aspiring scriptwriter, I’m always on the lookout for good tools and tricks to help me write more effectively. As I neared the end of the article this paragraph really stood out to me:

A treatment can be useful in getting your story straight, as well as getting the details of the screenplay you wish to write clearly spelled out. When you begin creating the details of the script, it’s too easy to lose track of the backbone of the story. The treatment focuses on the story’s backbone, allowing it to be seen clearly

I suddenly realized what I have been lacking when I write. Sure, I do an outline before I begin. But, a treatment is sort of like writing a short story about your script. I think it would be a great tool for testing a story idea. A tool to help you see where you want to go before you actually head out. The idea of using the treatment for a backbone to keep you in line is just brilliant. Thanks for the tip!

Written by Sterling

July 18, 2005 at 2:23 pm

Posted in uncategorized

