roXor media

martial arts, computers, dorks

Archive for March 19th, 2009

Weird weapons?

I really like working with unusual weapons. One of my favorites, is the category of soft/flexible weapons, things that are rarely thought of as weapons, like scarves.

I found this video and thought I’d share it, as I found it to be a great example of the use of a scarf. I also noticed that the movement does not look too dissimilar to the empty hand movement.

I believe that not needing to retrain your body to move differently for every weapon you practice is critical. Weather it be stick, knife, or a scarf. I’m a technique oriented guy, I believe when in a dangerous moment your brain has a fraction of a second to react. And it’s better if your brain doesn’t have to take into consideration what weapon you’re holding before it figures out how to respond to that threat.

Written by Dan

March 19, 2009 at 9:56 am

Posted in Martial Arts

Tagged with , ,